EDI Policies and Data

Equality Act 2010: Protected Characteristics

The Equality Act of 2010 is a law that outlines how people are protected from different types of discrimination on the basis of nine characteristics: age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, marriage & civil partnership, and pregnancy & maternity. Types of discrimination include direct discrimination, associative discrimination, discrimination by perception, indirect discrimination, harassment, harassment by a third party and victimisation.

Our Equality, Diversity & Inclusion policies and practices have been developed to eliminate discrimination and promote good relations between people with different protected characteristics. In addition to the nine characteristics protected under the Equality Act, the Equality and Diversity Policy of the United Colleges Group covers discrimination on the basis of socio-economic status, politics, marital status, trade union membership, or responsibility for dependants. Please refer to the links below to access all of our relevant policies.

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Action Plan

Over the course of a year, the EDI Team at UCG has developed a comprehensive and strategic EDI Action Plan which outlines objectives, actions, measurements, leads, and timelines for progress. The EDI Action Plan includes a section on “Achievements to Date” and will be reviewed by the EDI Team and EDI Steering Group on a termly basis by performing check-ins with the leads and continuously collecting staff feedback through surveys and focus groups.

UCG Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Action Plan 2023-24


Annual EDI Report

UCG Annual EDI Report 2022-23


Staff & Governors Profile

UCG Staff & Governor Profile 2022-23